[]
[]

A REVIEWS VIII

The Venona Secrets
The Venona Secrets Exposing Soviet Espionage and America's Traitors By Romerstein, Herbert (Book - 2000 ) DK266.3 .R66 2000 Available in some locations

Annotation:* * * * * (Five star rating was CENSORED; I rated again 8/12/12)

Up From the Projects
Up From the Projects An Autobiography By Williams, Walter E. (Book - 2010 ) 330.092 W55 Y Available in some locations

Annotation:* * * * *

Avatar
Avatar (DVD - 2010 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations

Annotation:(Stargladiator, since you so kindly addressed me, here are my 2 cents: I suggest you start educating yourself. For starters, get William Shirer’s book on WWII.) An anti-military, anti-American movie by big-time leftie (i.e., progressive) James Cameron. What else can I say? (PS: Who doesn’t want peace? There is a cost, though, because it doesn’t come for free. The fool Neville Chamberlain came back to England from Nazi (as in “socialist”) Germany bragging about peace, bringing an “agreement” that actually handed Czechoslovakia to the Nazi; instead of reading the facts correctly, he exposed his fellow citizens and the whole world to years of suffering and death. General George Patton was right: “Perpetual peace is a futile dream.” And not because we don’t yearn for it, but because evil people will do everything they can to end it!) NOTICE: Attempts to censor my comments will be fiercely fought under the aegis of American Libraries’ beloved principles: Freedom of Speech, Freedom to Read, Intellectual Freedom. 1/2 * (Updated 7/9/13; updated 8/14/13)

The Grace Card
The Grace Card (DVD - 2011 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 70 copies

Annotation:A good movie, but with too many sermons for my taste—I’m Christian but I don't like sermons, so take this into consideration, please. I think it’s interesting that, in a country deemed racist as this is, the main character in this movie doesn’t dare to utter a word considered highly racist—a word that if I dared to write here, my post would be summarily removed… * * * (Jun 19, 2012)

The Statue
The Statue (DVD - 2010 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations

Annotation:An aging David Niven isn’t less charming as the husband of gorgeous, hot-blooded Italian Virna Lisi. As the “Description” states, he goes into a rampage searching for the “model” for the statue’s genitalia. He gets into all kinds of troubles because he needs men to remove their pants and undergarments in order to be able to find the culprit. Especially comical are the shots when he is believed to be a homosexual and shunned—which nowadays wouldn’t work since homosexuality is commended, not spurned. The music is absolutely annoying, but the movie is worth watching nevertheless. * * * (Jun 14, 2012)

The Courageous Heart of Irena Sendler
The Courageous Heart of Irena Sendler (DVD - 2009 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations

Annotation:Irena Sendler, a nurse and a Catholic, bravely smuggled 2,500 Jewish children out of the Warsaw Ghetto during the occupation of the National Socialist German Worker's Party, better known as Nazi. The Gestapo finally got her and she was tortured for three months, never giving up her network. Interestingly, this courageous woman, who saved so many lives, was only nominated for a Nobel Prize—yet some worthless creatures, who had done nothing good, have won it. * * * * * (Feb 04, 2012)

Courageous
Courageous (DVD - 2012 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 143 copies

Annotation:What a wonderful movie, the acting is generally quite good. You won’t find any of Hollywood big shots, because they wouldn’t soil themselves with a movie where there is no sex nor foul language! (Halfway through the movie I asked my husband if he noticed something was missing; he immediately answered: cursing!) Christian or not, you will certainly enjoy the values instilled by the characters. Some scenes are very funny, some quite sad and moving. The speech on the last scene is beautiful, but it almost looks like the scene was cut short… Don’t like “religious talk”? Fast forward; but these scenes are so few, I believe only a hardened atheist would be bothered! Worth watching from beginning to end. * * * * * (Jun 12, 2012)

Bella
Bella (DVD - 2008 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 57 copies

Annotation:Beautiful movie, that should be watched by the whole family. * * * * * (6/12/12)

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy (DVD - 2012 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 190 copies

Annotation:Boring, slow movie. Flashbacks all the time and makes it all very confusing. Not even Oldman, one of my favorite actors, makes it endurable! (I just LOVE the condescending tone of some reviewers; tells a lot about the kind of people who watch this movie.) 1/2 * (Published 7/12/12; Censored; I reposted 8/12/12. Reviewed 10/23/12)

Valide
Valide By Chase-Riboud, Barbara (Book - 1986 ) Fiction Available in some locations

Annotation:Quite disappointing book, I couldn’t finish it. There is a repulsive and very graphic scene where a woman "checks" to see if the new 14 year-old white slave is apt to respond sexually to her master... Later on, now turned favorite, Naksh-i-dil has lesbian sex—thanks, but not interested! Mrs. Riboud describes Potemkin as "pouting"! Oh, dear… Also Topkapi has a strange festival where all the harem women get drugged (including the Sultan), eat lost of sweets and have a bacchanal. Tons and tons of descriptions of harem life (what they ate, how they bathed, slept, were shaved, ad nauseam) and the Topkapi, lots of explanations of muslim faith—but almost no story about Naksh-i-dil! Then, as the new Valide (from the ascension of the new Sultan) is a Christian, Naksh-i-dil inexplicably decides to become a muslim! And I can’t believe Naskh-i-dil would have been allowed to keep her rosary. The chapters wander all over creation: from Constantinople to Russia to Paris to somewhere in the ocean, quite confusing and tiresome. Although I don't know enough about the subject of the book, Mrs. Riboud has been accused of plagiarism: http://www.nytimes.com/1999/07/23/arts/art-in-review-barbara-chase-riboud.html?src=pm. 1/2 * (PUBLISHED 6/7/12)

The Medici, Godfathers of Renaissance
The Medici, Godfathers of Renaissance (DVD - 2003 ) DOCUMENTARY Available in some locations

Annotation:Interesting study about the influence of the Medici family in Renaissance Florence’s financial world and the arts; there are a few instances though when characters inexplicably disappeared, with no explanation. The representation of Girolamo Savanarola was over the top, highly exaggerated, as a demon right out of the flames of Hell: corroded teeth, drooling, wild-eyed, overgrown dirty fingernails—in one word, ridiculous. Interestingly the “Bonfire of the Vanities” mentioned was not organized by Savanarola, but his followers, and it seems it was invented by San Bernardino di Siena, many years before. Sandro Botticelli is shown burning one of his paintings; yet one can’t help but wonder why enormously visible targets such as The Spring, Athena and the Centaur, or The Birth of Venus would have been spared by a band of fanatics… At the end, Savanarola’s predictions actually come to pass: Florence collapses under the depravity and extravagances of Lorenzo dei Medici, il Magnifico! The series had one irritating problem: one of the professors kept mispronouncing Medici, putting the emphasis in the second syllable instead of the first, making it sound, in Italian, as “me dice,” or “tell me”… Most of the program was shot at Offagna, the reason why I couldn’t recognize Florence! :-) * * * (PUBLISHED 6/6/12)

The Irish R.M
The Irish R.M Complete Series (DVD - 2006 ) TELEVISION All copies in use Availability details

Annotation:My husband and I loved this series. Peter Bowles is excellent as Major Yeates, the Resident Magistrate. The many unusual characters were all played by excellent actors. Very funny, worth watching. * * * * 1/2 (Jun 04, 2012)

To the Manor Born
To the Manor Born The Complete Collection (DVD - 2008 ) DVD TV TO Available in some locations

Annotation:The first time I tried to watch this series I couldn’t get over the laughs of the audience in the background… I decided to give it another try and loved it! Bowles and Keith are absolutely flawless as Richard DeVere and Audrey fforbes-Hamilton, and the other actors complement the story to perfection. Keith is definitely not a pretty woman, but her witty repartees, her panache and elegance will certainly win you over. Although the series was filmed between 1979/1981, her attire is composed mostly of neutral tones, but so classic and elegant they could be donned today! (Be prepared for some tree-hugger BS, though; it was 1979, but, hey, it was socialist England after all!) I highly recommend also: “The Irish RM” where Peter Bowles played Major Yeates, a retired English officer who becomes Resident Magistrate in a small West Irish town. * * * * (Jun 12, 2012)

The Grand Sophy
The Grand Sophy By Heyer, Georgette (Book - 2009 ) FICTION HEYER Available in some locations

Annotation:I am not a fan of Regency books, but I love all of Mrs. Hayer's Regency books! * * * * * (Jun 04, 2012)

Greatest Classic Films Collection
Greatest Classic Films Collection John Wayne Westerns (DVD - 2009 ) WESTERNS Available in some locations

Annotation:If you love JW, you'll love this collection! * * * * * (8/4/12)

The War on Christmas
The War on Christmas How the Liberal Plot to Ban the Sacred Christian Holiday Is Worse Than You Thought By Gibson, John (Book - 2005 ) BT315 .G53 2005 Available in some locations

Annotation:* * * * * (Five star rating was CENSORED; I reated again 8/12/12)

Liberal Fascism
Liberal Fascism The Secret History of the American Left, From Mussolini to the Politics of Meaning By Goldberg, Jonah (Book - 2007 ) 320.53 GOLDBERG Available in some locations

Annotation:Very well documented, easy to read, fascinating book. Even the ones who are well informed will learn something from Mr. Goldberg's book. It is shocking to see that most people believe, for example, that the Nazi were “far right”! Yet Nationalsozialistische Deutsche Arbeiterpartei (NSDAP) stands for National SOCIALIST German Workers’ Party. And since socialism is a leftwing economic system, it should be obvious to anyone who cared to look beyond the lies perpetrated by the Left that the Nazi were lefties. In this case life imitates art, and like in Huxley’s Brave New World: “Sixty-two thousand four hundred repetitions make one truth”… Fortunately Mr. Goldberg’s book helps debunk this and many other myths. Together with "The Black Book of Communism" this book is a must read for anyone—Left of Right! NOTICE: Attempts to censor (“Report this”) my comments will be fiercely fought under the aegis of American Libraries’ beloved principles: Freedom of Speech, Freedom to Read, Intellectual Freedom. * * * * * (Jun 15, 2012)

Conan O'Brien Can't Stop
Conan O'Brien Can't Stop (DVD - 2011 ) DOCUMENTARY Available in some locations

Annotation:What a bummer! This is not the Conan to whom we are used in his programs. This is a bitter, whining, old man, constantly complaining about the deal he made with NBC. And if you are from Ohio, you won’t like his belittling of it. Conan O'Brien SHOULD Stop! If you like Conan, don’t watch this documentary: you might change your mind! 1/2 * (PUBLISHED Dec 22, 2011)

What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? (DVD - 2008 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations

Annotation:This is a very funny movie. I almost cried laughing when Dick Shawn comes out of the bordello dressed as one of the "putane"! Or when Sergio Fantone begs the prostitutes to stay inside the bordello while the Italians and Americans are faking a fight: “Signore putane!” This is a 1966 movie, but in my view fun doesn’t age! * * * * (Jun 03, 2012)

People's Names
People's Names A Cross-cultural Reference Guide to the Proper Use of Over 40,000 Personal and Familial Names in Over 100 Cultures By Ingraham, Holly (Book - 1997 ) CS2305 .I54 1997 Available in some locations

Annotation:Excellent book for research. Highly recommend. * * * * * (3/1/12)

Fireproof
Fireproof (DVD - 2009 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations Holds: 2 on 102 copies

Annotation:Beautiful, worth-watching movie! * * * * * (Jun 02, 2012)

Help! Mom! There Are Liberals Under My Bed!
Help! Mom! There Are Liberals Under My Bed! A Small Lesson in Conservatism By DeBrecht, Katharine (Book - 2005 ) Fiction DeBrech Available in some locations Holds: 1 on 1 copy

Annotation:UPDATE: Six years ago this witty children book was in the Elyria library, in their “Conflict Resolution” area. When asked why this children’s book was not in the children area, the Elyria library answered in an email that it was the adequate place for it, since it was where “controversial books” were placed… The only “controversial” thing in this book is that it is NOT a Liberal children book! Now the CLEVNET Consortium has only one volume of this book available—in the Lorain library—and, although this is clearly a children’s book, it is in their Adult area… Interestingly, this children’s book is being cataloged under “Conservatism — United States — Fiction,” “Political Fiction,” and “Allegories — 2005”; yet, all the clearly left-leaning literature (meant) for kids never gets this labeling. (So much for "diversity"!) When asked why the book is not in the Children area the Lorain Library explained: “we are using a record from the Library of Congress […] which put it in the adult collection.” Yet, the Cataloging Automation Specialist at the Library of Congress explained that their record “has a juvenile designation, literary form is fiction, and class PZ7 is for children's literature.” According to the Lorain Library “The book is being checked out frequently enough from the adult collection that we do not wish to move it to a different location within the library.” So even though it is miscataloged, it “is being checked out frequently,” if properly shelved, in the Children area, it would be even more frequently checked out. And if despite the fact that it is miscataloged it is still frequently checked out, there is obviously a need for more copies. Mrs. Debrecht has since published three other books; none are available through the CLEVNET, which tells volumes (pun intended!) about librarians’ agenda: they cry “Censorship!” if a parent wants a “controversial” book moved to the Adult area, yet bury a book clearly intended for children in the Adult area for being “controversial,” i.e., Conservative! More about Mrs. Debrecht CENSORED books: www.radicalsruiningmycountry.com NOTICE: Attempts to censor my comments will be fiercely fought under the aegis of American Libraries’ beloved principles: Freedom of Speech, Freedom to Read, Intellectual Freedom. (6/1/2012; updated 10/26/13) * * * * *

The Vagina Monologues
The Vagina Monologues By Ensler, Eve (Book - 2001 ) PS3555.N75 V3 2001 Available in some locations

Annotation:n the play The Vagina Monologues, the word vagina is pronounced 136 times. It is described as “a play about violence against women.” Among other stories, it romanticizes the sexual encounter where an older woman gets a female minor drunk. One monologue reads that "Christians don't have vaginas." The few males mentioned are depicted in a very negative light. Hillary Clinton, Gloria Steinmen (wrote a Foreword of the book) and Suzan Sarandon (performed in the play) are big fans of Eve Ensler. In most of our Universities now Valentine’s Day has been substituted by V-Day–guess what that V stands for? Yes, judge for yourself, don't let others do your thinking for you: read it and see the kind of trash young women are reading! NOTICE: Attempts to censor (“Report this”) my comments will be fiercely fought under the aegis of American Libraries’ beloved principles: Freedom of Speech, Freedom to Read, Intellectual Freedom. 1/2 * (PUBLISHED 6/1/2012; UPDATED 11/14/12) THEME: diminishing women

Cambridge Spies
Cambridge Spies (DVD - 2003 ) ENTERTAINMENT Available in some locations

Annotation:(insane_smurf, would you also like to write something about the movie or didn't you watch it and just thought you'd stop by to harass me? For someone so "broadminded" you seem quite intolerant of other's opinions...) What a weird movie... One of the main characters—yes, I am aware of the fact that he was one of the “bad guys”!—states that one can only combat fascism by being a commie. Excuse me?! The other tells another guy his father died f*cking his mother… Two others are homosexual—or so it seemed by their flirting with other men… This is definitely the kind of movie I don’t care for. 1/2 * (6/1/12; Reviewed 7/10/13)

Thomas Jefferson's Monticello
Thomas Jefferson's Monticello (Book - 2002 ) E332.74 .T48 2002 Available in some locations

Annotation:* * * * *

Founding Gardeners
Founding Gardeners The Revolutionary Generation, Nature, and the Shaping of the American Nation By Wulf, Andrea (Book - 2011 ) 712.0973 WUL Available in some locations

Annotation:* * * * *

The Supremacists
The Supremacists The Tyranny of Judges and How to Stop It By Schlafly, Phyllis (Book - 2004 ) KF5130.S34 2004 Available in some locations

Annotation:Another excellent book by Mrs. Schlafly. I own a copy and had the honor of having it autographed by the author. * * * * * (May 31, 2012)

The Power of the Positive Woman
The Power of the Positive Woman By Schlafly, Phyllis (Book - 1977 ) HQ1426 .S33 Available in some locations

Annotation:Mrs. Schlafly alone stopped NOW from taking over the US Capitol. She is a strong woman, very secure of her femininity and has no fear of admitting men and women are different! Although this book was published in the 70’s it is still worth reading and still very relevant today. There are only two available in this CLEVNET Consortium of so many libraries—which is very telling: feminists are afraid of allowing other women to read an opposing view! NOTICE: Attempts to censor (“Report this”) my comments will be fiercely fought under the aegis of American Libraries’ beloved principles: Freedom of Speech, Freedom to Read, Intellectual Freedom. * * * * * All Ages (May 31, 2012)

Biology at Work
Biology at Work Rethinking Sexual Equality By Browne, Kingsley (Book - 2002 ) BF692.2 .B77 2002 All copies in use Availability details

Annotation:This is a highly documented, serious work that should be read by everyone, especially women with male offspring. Kingsley dives into the (real) differences between men and women and re-teaches us a most necessary lesson, although so simple: that men and women ARE different! And, vive la diference! A MUST read book. NOTICE: Attempts to censor (“Report this”) my comments will be fiercely fought under the aegis of American Libraries’ beloved principles: Freedom of Speech, Freedom to Read, Intellectual Freedom. * * * * * All Ages (May 31, 2012)

A Shared List by EuSei

Member of CLEVNET Library Cooperation

Send EuSei a Message FollowFollow IgnoreIgnore Report This List

Description

NOTICE: Attempts to censor my comments will be fiercely fought under the aegis of American Library Association's beloved principles: Freedom of Speech, Freedom to Read, Intellectual Freedom.


English
Other

Powered by BiblioCommons.